Katie Zimmerman
Executive Director

Katie became Executive Director in April 2017 after eight years at the Coastal Conservation League, where she was the Air, Water and Public Health Program Director. Prior to the League, she was a contractor to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s (NOAA) Coastal Services Center, where she worked on performance metrics, strategic planning and legislative tracking. Before NOAA, she led several research and outreach projects on environmental justice, community empowerment, green building and water quality in the Charleston area. Katie earned her M.S. in Environmental Studies and her B.A. in English with minors in Political Science and Environmental Studies, all from the College of Charleston. She serves on several boards and committees, including the City of Charleston Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee, the Rethink Folly Road Steering Committee and the educational advisory board to the Lowcountry Graduate Center in Healthcare Management and Community Wellness.

Savannah Brennan
Director of Programming

Savannah joined Charleston Moves as Membership & Outreach Coordinator in September 2015. Since January 2017, she has served as Director of Programming. Prior to joining Charleston Moves, Savannah was a Production Editor at The History Press in Charleston’s Upper Peninsula. She brings loads of nonprofit experience from her work as a co-founder, year-round organizer and board member of Girls Rock Charleston, now called Carolina Youth Action Project. With a passion for social justice, Savannah gained experience with fundraising, grassroots community building, program development and execution, organizational envisioning and strategic planning, volunteer recruitment, administration, and grant writing. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Sociology with a minor in English from the College of Charleston, is a resident of Wagener Terrace and a daily bicycle commuter.

Board of Directors


Sarah Hays
Committees: Executive; Finance + Development; Governance; Communications + Events; Organizational Empowerment ad hoc

LeGrand Elebash
Vice Chair
Committees: Executive

Danielle Bowen Scheurer, M.D., M.S.C.R.
Committees: Executive; Governance; Organizational Empowerment ad hoc

Scott Walker
Committees: Executive; Finance + Development (Chair)


Curtis Dayson
Committees: Finance + Development; Governance (Chair)

Morgan Hughey
Committees: Communications + Events

Michelle Martin
Committees: TBD

Mary Martinich, PLA
Committees: Communications + Events (Chair)

John Mitchell
Committees: Finance + Development; Organizational Empowerment ad hoc

Femi Oyediran
Committees: TBD

Brooks Reitz
Committees: TBD

LaToya Sulton
Committees: Governance; Communications + Events